Lord Peter Wimsey
Home Books Timeline People Author Links

The Books in the Series


Whose Body? (1923)

Clouds of Witness (1927)

Unnatural Death (1927)

Unpleasantness at the Bellona Club (1928)

Strong Poison (1930)
Peter meets and falls in love with Harriet Vane, detective novelist and accused murderer, in this volume.

The Five Red Herrings (1931)

Have His Carcase (1932)

Murder Must Advertise (1933)
Peter disguises himself as “Death Bredon” to investigate a death at an advertising company.

Nine Tailors (1934)
Features nine large church bells and an unidentified body in someone else’s grave.

Gaudy Night (1936)
Peter helps Harriet find an anonymous letter writer who is terrorising Shrewsbury College, Oxford.

Busman’s Honeymoon (1937)
This novel was based on a play that Sayers wrote with Murial St. Clare Byrne.

Thrones, Dominations (abandoned in 1937; completed in 1998)
Jill Paton Walsh completed this unfinished manuscript.

A Presumption of Death (2002)
A new novel by Jill Paton Walsh, based on “The Wimsey Papers,” which were published in the Spectator from Nov. 1939 to Jan. 1940.

Short Stories

Lord Peter : The Complete Lord Peter Wimsey Stories
First published in 1972. Contains stories from Lord Peter Views the Body (1928), Hangman's Holiday: A Collection of Short Mysteries (1933), and In the Teeth of the Evidence (1939).