Ray Krone Award

In honor of one of the founders of modern cohesive sediment science and engineering, the Ray Krone award for the best paper by a young scientist has been established. The selection is made by members of the Steering Committee on the basis of scientific content, originality and presentation skills according to the following criteria:

  1. The prize is for the best presentation at the conference with the following weighing: scientific content: 2/3, presentation: 1/3.
  2. The prize can be won by first authors only (i.e. the presenter).
  3. The referees are considerate with respect to the English language in case that the presenter is a non-English native.
  4. All participants are potential candidate, except Steering Committee members and very senior scientists. These, however, may be co-author of the winning paper.
  5. The best five papers based on scientific content and the best five papers based on presentation skills are ranked with scores as follows: nr 5: 1 pt, nr 4: 2 pts, nr 3: 4 pts, nr 2: 7 pts and nr 1: 10 pts.

    The separate score sheets are combined, weighted and ranked by the chair of the Steering Committee.

    J.J. Mehta Award

    The Mehta Award is a given to an individual who has made significant contributions to the advancement in the theory or application of cohesive sediment transport in the marine or aquatic environment. The award, which carries a plaque and a prize of $3,000, is normally given when INTERCOH is convened. Awardees are globally selected and are not limited in any way to the specific themes or participants at the conference.

      The award is named in the memory of Jayant J. Mehta (1916-1996) by his son Ashish J. Mehta. Jayant J. Mehta (masters from MIT, 1938) was a pioneer in the inception and growth of the petrochemical industry in India, contributing significantly to the countrys industrial expansion starting in the 1970s. The award is given only if a suitable candidate is chosen. In that event the Award Committee will indicate the basis for its choice in its letter to the award receiver. Deliberations by the committee leading to the selection will remain internal to the committee whose decision will be final. The award receiver will be invited to the conference to present a keynote lecture on the award topic.

        The Award Committee is affiliated to the Steering Committee of the International Conference on Cohesive Sediment Transport Processes (INTERCOH). It includes three members approved by the Steering Committee. The tenure of each member is 6 years. The present members are William H. McAnally, Lawrence P. Sanford and Johan C. Winterwerp (Chair).

          The deadline for nominations is June 15, 2013. Nominations are welcome from anyone associated with cohesive sediment transport research or application. The package should include a letter of transmittal from the nominator indicating the basis for the choice of the nominee, nominee’s bio-data and two letters of support from individuals other than the nominator. The entire package must be sent by e-mail to Professor Lawrence Sanford, Steering Committee Chair, at: